Year End Hike

This post is quite late but I still wanted to share it with you guys. Well last March 2016, I hiked Mt. Ulap. It’s one of those hike that kept my knees in pain for 2 days. ๐Ÿ˜€ Since then I promised myself to be back to see my progress. Then December came so I decided to give Mt. Ulap another shot, thinking of revenge and of course my year end hike. To make it different, I’m a solo joiner this time. I found this event posted on Facebook by the Budgetarian Adhike. I contacted theย who posted it on Facebook, she’s Mam Juji. After I settled the payments, I packed my bag and waited for the day of the event.

The night that I’ve been waiting for came, it was December 27th that time, our meetup point isย at the McDonald’s Eton Centris. Since I’m alone, I seated at the far end of the van. There are 4 groups who joined the hike. 7 from Tokyo Tokyo, 3 from a Call Center Company, 3 brothers/sisters, 2 friends. I wasn’t able to get their names since I’m so shy. The usual travel time, took us more than 6 hrs to reach Itogon, Benguet. It’s not that cold when we arrived there. In fact I only wear my dri fit shirt. Though my morning allergies are attacking me that time. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Then the hike begins, we started trekking around 7:30AM and finished around 1PM. Mt. Ulap is still a place to be for people who want to experience mountaineering.ย Rolling trails, cold weather, pine trees, cows and rock formations are the things you can look forward. The registration process is established and there’s no other registration along the trail other than the one in Barangay Ampucao. We did a traverse and our exit point was at Barangay Sta. Fe. One change that is noticeable is the establishment of the sign boards on the peaks. Well if you’re asking if I achieved my goal why I did climb this mountain again, the answer is no. Still my knee hurts. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ However, its slightly better than the previous, because it’s less painful and I was able to recover the next day as if nothing happened. Still I failed, though. I was defeated by that staircase on the Sta. Fe exit. ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess I have another reason to visit Mt. Ulap again and hopefully on my third attempt my knees will be fine. ๐Ÿ™‚

Still Mt. Ulap is worth a visit. I love its well established trail. I love the cold weather and of course the fantastic view. ๐Ÿ™‚

Special thanks to The Budgetarianย Adhikeย – Sir Dexter and Mam Juji for a very smooth transaction. Hope to hike with you again soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tour Expense: 1000

 

One thought on “Year End Hike

Leave a Reply

